…whose name, if you can’t tell, I’m kind of in love with. I’m adding this because looking at the last post you’d think Houseman was a total emo!kid. XIII (from A Shropshire Lad) is really well-known, simple and lighthearted. And after this I’m self-banning myself from posting anymore Houseman for a while, because I swear I know other poets.

XIII

When I was one-and-twenty
  I heard a wise man say,
`Give crowns and pounds and guineas
  But not your heart away;
Give pearls away and rubies
  But keep your fancy free.’
But I was one-and-twenty
  No use to talk to me.
 
When I was one-and-twenty
  I heard him say again,
`The heart out of the bosom
  Was never given in vain;
‘Tis paid with sighs a plenty
  And sold for endless rue.’
And I am two-and-twenty
  And oh, ’tis true, ’tis true.

