So you haven’t heard Regina Spektor’s “That Time”? That’s ok; I’m here to enlighten you. So it’s SotM!

This is my favorite Regina song, and most of that is the lyrics, which are fantastic, as far as lyrics and song concepts go. The actual music doesn’t, by itself, wow me. It’s different from her most popular songs, like “Fidelity” or “On the Radio” – I’m not a music person so I’ll describe it like this: with “Fidelity,” I do faux-ballet-mod dancing. With “That Time” I dance spasmodically and with very little conscious art. In the end, though, “That Time” is just a lot more fun, light-hearted with just enough depth to make you wonder exactly how light-hearted it really is. You can sense the complexity – it’s there – but you don’t feel particularly compelled to examine it.

There’s no official video, so you can just enjoy this static picture of the album cover while you listen, I guess.

Lyrics:

Hey remember that time when I found a human tooth
down on Delancey?
Hey remember that time when we decided to kiss anywhere except the mouth.
Hey remember that time when my favorite colors was pink and green?
Hey remember that month when I only ate
boxes of tangerines?
So cheap and juicy!
Tangerines.

Hey remember that time when I would only read
Shakespeare.
Hey remember that other time when I would only read the backs of
cereal boxes?
Hey remember that time I tried to save a pigeon with a broken wing?
A street cat got him by morning and I had to bury pieces of his body in our building’s playground.
I thought I was gonna be sick.

I thought I was gonna be sick
Hey remember that time when I would only smoke
Parliaments
Hey remember that time when I would only smoke
Marlboros
Hey remember that time when I would only smoke
Camels
Hey remember that time when I was broke? I didn’t care I just
bummed from my friends.
Bum bum-bum-bum-bum bum bum-bum-bum-bum

Hey remember that time when you OD’d?

Hey remember that other time when you OD’d for the second
time?

Well in the waiting room while waiting for news of you I hallucinated I could read your mind
And I was on a lot of sh*t too but what I saw man I tell you it was
freaky

Freaky.

 

 

