I’m getting a bird! Probably not a yellow one, though – turns out male canaries (the ones who sing, generally) are actually hella expensive. Sorry, Conor (and yeah, that would have been the canary’s name). For a few months there I backed and forthed it between canaries, finches and parakeets. Here was my thought process:

red factory and yellow canary

Canary:

– Pros: Smaller than a parakeet. Bigger than a finch. Pretty. Nice sounds. Solitary (the house is empty quite a bit, sometimes). No worrying about letting little Conor out of his cage.

– Cons: No taking little Conor out of his cage! No handling. And, it turns out, expensive as all get-out.

society finches

Finch:

– Pros: Smallest bird that I would like. Not needy. Teenie weenie. Easy to care for. No worries about letting them out of the cage. Cheap.

– Cons: Less interaction than I would like. They’re not, it seems, real big “humans” fans and yet aren’t solitary like the canary (two male canaries will fight for dominance in a cage, two females will get paranoid and fight around mating season [all of spring], and a lady and gentleman will mate, which, no). So I’d really have to get two, because I’m not gonna have a little finch be miserable by himself. Two birdies means bigger cage and potentially some angst about not getting a boy and girl accidentally (seriously, I don’t want to deal with baby care!).

parakeet/budgie

The Budgie:

Pros: ‘Keets will interact with you more. Potential talking fun (I’d be amused by any imitation tho’, like whistling). Can be handled and played with. Colorful. Can be let out of cage (clipped, for me). Cheap.

Cons: I have to let them out of their cage! Ew, they’ll poop. Wait, I can deal with that, especially since keet poops are apparently really tiny (like a grain of rice!) and mostly hard. Worries about loneliness during day if house is empty. Biggest bird of the three (which of course calls for big cage).

___

Anyway, my mom thought the finches were ugly (she’s harsh, like that. I thought they were quite cute. So tiny!), and of course balked at the canary prices (the store we went to [alright, it was petsmart] had them at a hundred a pop). She likes how pretty the keets are, although she doesn’t know that they’re more trouble and I don’t really plan on telling her. She’ll just have to deal with that afterwards, ’cause I want a birdie and dammit, I’m gettin’ it.

She just greenlighted me for the bird buying today. Here are some lists I’ve started.

Things to Buy:

– Cage. $40 budget.
– Thrift-store table thing to put cage on. $25 budget.
– Toys! Ladders, bells, mirrors, swings and slidy things! Also an extra perch or two. Alright! $15 budget
– Food – probably pellets and some millet to start. I hear seeds are awful messy but I’ll probably give it some once a week or so. I’m not sure how much this costs, actually.

Birdie Names:

Nigel
Rupert/Ripper (a Buffy nod, of course, which gets it all kinds of extra points)
Colleen
Abbey Road (called Abbey)
Basil
Agnes
Gwen
Digby
Hilda
Mod
Edgar
Agatha
Glen
Archie
Jekyl
Chloe
Louis

* Since I used the lyrics for my post title, I’m making “We are Nowhere and It’s Now” the new Song of the Mo’. From the Album I’m Wide Awake It’s Morning.

 If you hate the taste of wine,
why do you drink it till you’re blind?
And if you
swear that there’s no truth, and who cares,
how come you say it like you’re right?
Why are you scared to dream of God
when it’s salvation that you want?
You see stars that clear
have been dead for years
but the idea just lives on

In our wheels that roll around
as we move over the ground
and all day it seems we’ve been in between
a past and future town

We are nowhere and it’s now
We are nowhere and it’s now

And like a ten minute dream in the passenger’s seat
while the world was flying by,
I haven’t been gone very long
but it feels like a lifetime

I’ve been sleeping so strange at night.
Side effects they don’t advertise.
I’ve been sleeping so strange,
with a head full of pesticide

I’ve got no plans and too much time.
I feel too restless to unwind.
I’m always lost in thought as I walk a block
to my favorite neon sign.

Where the waitress looks concerned,
but she never says a word.
Just turns the juke box on and we hum along
and I smile back at her.

And my friend comes after work
when the features start to blur.
She says these bars are filled with things that kill,
by now you probably should have learned.

Did you forget that yellow bird?
Oh how could you forget your yellow bird?
And she took a small silver wreath then pinned it onto me,
she said this one will bring you love.
And I don’t know if it’s true
but I keep it for good luck.

