Instead of sending me “a few songs for the summer”, my sister went a little insane and sent me ninety-six. So I’m listening to them in groups of six to eight at a time. They’re pretty good, for new music (I’m one of those people who needs to acquire tastes) so I’m picking one song from every new set to feature as Song of the Mo’, and that takes care of that for the next few…months?

Anyway, here’s your SotM! I’ve often mocked the Be Good Tanyas for their unshakably lesbian-indie-folk-group vibe, but I’ve never disliked the music. It’s always pleasant, and “Littlest Birds” is a great example of that. Hereya.

Lyrics:

Well I feel like an old hobo,
I’m sad lonesome and blue

I was fair as the summer day,
now the summer days are through.
You pass through places
and places pass through you
but you carry ’em with you
on the soles of your travellin’ shoes.

Well I love you so dearly, I love you so clearly,
I wake you up in the mornin’ so early
just to tell you I got the wanderin’ blues,
I got the wanderin’ blues
and I’m gonna quit these ramblin’ ways one of
these days soon.

And I’ll sing,
the littlest birds sing the prettiest songs [X4]

Well it’s times like these
I feel so small and wild
like the ramblin’ footsteps
of a wanderin’ child.
And I’m lonesome as a lonesome whippoorwill
singin these blues with a warble and a trill.
But I’m not too blue to fly
No I’m not too blue to fly cause

The littlest birds sing the prettiest songs [X4]

Well I love you so dearly, I love you so fearlessly
I wake you up in the mornin’ so early
just to tell you I got the wanderin’ blues,
I got the wanderin’ blues
And I don’t wanna leave you, I love you through and through

I left my baby on a pretty blue train
and I sang my songs to the cold and the rain.
I had the wanderin’ blues
and I sang those wanderin’ blues.
And I’m gonna quit these ramblin’ ways
one of these days soon

And I’ll sing,
the littlest birds sing the prettiest songs [X6]
 

****************************

Whippoorwill: a nocturnal North American nightjar, Caprimulgus vociferus, having a variegated plumage of gray, black, white, and tawny.

