Ok, after the post on the short personality test, I had a looksee around the rest of the site. And I found this gem: Would You Have Been A Good Wife in the 30s? Gee, I dunno, would I??? Clearly, I had to find out.

http://www.blogthings.com/wouldyouhavebeenagoodwifeinthe1930squiz/

Now, I admit, when I was younger I often dreamed of living in a previous era. This was before I had to consider issues of race and class and human rights and blah blah blah progress. Dresses! yay! I wanted to write books and be a kept daughter then a housewife with ohthechildren. Which, you know, nothing wrong with that, except it turns out that’s not really me at all. I mean, I don’t know, maybe if my home situation were different I wouldn’t mind just hanging around till I was twenty-something, and if I didn’t have so many issues with the other sex (and with sex!) I’d be a little more interested in finding That Guy. But circumstances being and having been what they are, I want nothing more than to get out of this house and into a small apartment somewhere, sans parents, boyfriend, and anyone else to depend on except for a roommate.

So, would I have been a good 30s housewife? Let’s find out in the most unscientific way possible. Now, the quiz is actually a check-mark list. Let me comment on my reasoning here:

  • You would ask your husband’s opinion before making a big decision or purchase. That’s just good sense!
  • You tell risque or vulgar stories. Always. Or, occasionally. I know a couple.
  • You would often remark on your husband’s strength and masculinity. My husband would probably not be very strong or masculine, so I guess not.
  • You smoke, drink, gamble, or use drugs. No. I don’t.
  • You keep snacks in the refrigerator that a man would like for late night eating. I keep snacks in the fridge that I like. Do guys like pudding?
  • You walk around the house in your stocking feet. I had to stop here for several seconds and be uncertain about what “stocking feet” are.
  • You are not crabby first thing in the morning. You wake up with a pleasant disposition. Yes! I am a morning person, strangely enough.
  •  
  • You wear red nail polish. Never.
  • You keep yourself dainty, feminine, and smelling nice. Uh, sure.
  • You use slang or profanity. Yes.
  • You are a good seamstress. You can sew your own clothes and clothes for the children. Hahahahaha!
  • You wear your pajamas while cooking. I substituted “houseclothes” for “pajamas” and the answer was yes.
  • You Would Make an Okay 1930’s Wife
    You have some of the attributes of an ideal 1930’s wife… but you probably didn’t intend it to be that way.
    You don’t buy into retro gender roles, though you do embrace your femininity at times.
    A 1930’s man may find you passable, but you probably wouldn’t want anything to do with him.

    Good to know.

